Life cycle of a computer virus.

Q7. Explain the life cycle of a virus.

Ans. The following are the different stages in the life cycle of a virus:

Life cycle of a virus.
  1. Creation: Represents the stage when a virus is first created. Till a few years back, knowledge of a programming language was required to create a virus. However, today anyone with knowledge of basic programming concepts can create a virus.
  2. Replication: Represents the stage when the virus creates new copies of itself. A well-designed virus replicates several times before it is activated. This gives the virus enough time to spread.
  3. Activation: Represents the stage in which the virus is triggered and it starts causing damage to your computer.
  4. Discovery: Represents the stage when a virus is detected and isolated. After the detection and isolation of the virus, it is sent ti the International Computer Security Association in Washington so that it can be documented and distributed to the developers of anti-virus software.
  5. Assimilation: Represents the stage when the developers of anti-virus software modify their software so that it can detect the new virus. This can take up to six months, depending on the anti-virus developers and type of virus.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: