United Nation Guidelines Themes.

Q8. What are United Nation guidelines themes on consumer protection?

Ans.  The United Nation (UN) guidelines call upon government to develop, strengthen and maintain a strong consumer policy, and provide for enhanced protection of consumers by enunciating various steps and measures around eight themes (UNCTAD,2001).  These eight themes are:

  1. Physical safety,
  2. Economic interest,
  3. Standard,
  4. Essential goods and services,
  5. Redress,
  6. Education and information,
  7. Specific areas concerning health,
  8. Sustainable consumption.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: