Basic Units of the Computer and Names of sub-units that makes CPU and Functions of each unit.

Q2. State the basic units of the computer. Name the sub-units that makes up the CPU, and give the function of each of the units.

Ans. The basic units of the computer are:

  1. Input Unit.
  2. Central Processing Unit(CPU).
  3. Output Unit.
  4. Memory.

The CPU has two sub-units: the Control Unit(CU) and the Arithmetic Logic Unit(ALU).

The Control Unit controls the entire operation being carried out.

The ALU performs the arithmetic and logical operations.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: